Plugin: Spoiler cards

Hello everyone!

Recently I have created a plugin for myself, so now I am sharing it!
This is my first attempt at creating a plugin for Joplin.

I always felt like I needed to create a card of some sort with an extendable body. You could do that in plain html, but it just felt like there something was missing and it would be just tedious to copy and copy the same plain html all over again.

This plugins allows you to create these spoiler cards from a specific format. The cards display as spoilers with titles until clicked on to be extended.

The styling of cards is made to my liking, but you can customize it yourself.

I am not quite sure how the publishing of plugins works yet, so I published a npm package, as well as the github repo for now.

Note: I have not thoroughly tested the plugin yet, but to my knowledge it works for me.

If there is any feedback or bugs, I'll try to fix them when I find time.

Github repo:

24 Likes

Nifty! I have been wanting something like this.

Discourse actually has this feature. You can get it by clicking on the gear editor. This is what it looks like:

Summary

This text will be hidden

[details="Summary"]
This text will be hidden
[/details]

I don't know if that is some kind of standard, but it's much more human readable than what you are using. Although what you have is much fewer keystrokes.

1 Like

Another way is to paste the following as markdown:

Summary

Some text

print("hello world!")

<details>
<summary>Summary</summary>
Some text 
</details>
1 Like

Thanks. I like it instinctively and have installed it, but I can't think of a good use for it yet. Maybe something like questions for a quiz that you reveal the answer to? Any other real use ideas?

1 Like

I agree with it being unreadable, so I've decided to reformat it. I've tried to keep it simple and not too complicated with the amount of typing.

Now it's using the follow format:

:[
Card name here...

Card body text here...

]: