Plugin: Highlighter

This is my first attempt at a Joplin plugin.

The plugin allows the user to auto insert the MARK or a SPAN tag containing a number of pre-selected background text colours.

The JPL package is downloadable from Github - JoplinDave/joplin-plugin-highlighter: Highlighter plugin for the note taking app Joplin (github.com)

Please see the ReadMe on Github for full instructions.

Thanks to CalebJohn for resolving an issue with this plugin for me, and the suggestion of v2 of the plugin that wouldn't immediately insert the tags, but dynamically render the highlights upon viewing the note.

4 Likes

Congratulations! Thanks for all your work.

This looks great. Is there any chance of having the highlighting applied in the markdown editor? I'm happy to use just the ==built in markup== but since I do most of my work in the raw markdown, I don't use this since it doesn't highlight things there.

Thanks for this. But with a customized dark theme, the highlight makes the text hard to read because the text is in white. It'd be much more readable if the text were black, which is what I get if I use the ==text== option.

2 Likes

I just discovered that using "m" instead of one of the colors gives me the same effect as ==text== (that is, black text and yellow highlight). But it'd be nice if there could be black text even with red, blue, and green highlighting.

1 Like

Nice plug-in, good idea !
but let me ask: how complicated is it to replace typing "un-human" mark-up commands in two places (beginning and end) into a simple mouse command added to the context menu ? Such as:
select text -> right-lick -> menu item "highlights" -> select the highlight you want
This would turn a nice plug-in into a great plug-in :wink:

1 Like

This plugin has a lot of potential. I'm going to use it and follow its development.