New Plugin: Note Link Graph UI

Hey all,

A few days ago I was tempted to download Obsidian to get the graph UI they offer but I couldn't make myself move off Free Software like Joplin. So I'd like to share the early version of a plugin I'm working on to bring a graph UI to Joplin!

I know many other people are interested in the Zettelkasten system or want to visual links in their second brain and I'm hoping you all can help me improve this plugin to give Joplin full support for these systems.

Help wanted: Check out the issues I've filed on Github, help me fix color schemes, or file Issues for any bugs you encounter (I'm sure there are a ton, I've just started this plugin myself). I'm a back end developer so this D3/JS stuff is like pulling out my own teeth. Any help would be appreciated haha

Trey

40 Likes

Whoa dude! That's crazy cool hahahah. This plugin system rocks

But yeah, love the concept, first time I'm seeing it. Thanks for making this

1 Like

That looks great! If you want to set the colours according to the current theme, you might be able to use these CSS variables: Creating a table of content plugin | Joplin

Otherwise each theme has an "appearance" property which can either be "light" or "dark", which you could use and theme your view accordingly. I'm not sure that property is exposed anywhere though but if you need access to it let me know.

2 Likes

Awesome, thanks for this pointer @laurent, and thanks for the great app and plugin system! I've updated the plugin with proper theme support.

How does one get the plugin into the Joplin Plugin search functionality? Just send a PR here: GitHub - joplin/plugins: Joplin official plugin repository ? I'll go ahead and cut a release now

No need, just run npm publish and the rest is automated (you do need to be signed in to npm though).

2 Likes

Thanks @CalebJohn. I just published to npm so I assume it should show up in the Joplin Plugin search eventually.

2 Likes

Looks like it's up already. Nice work!