GSoC20 start contribution in React Native codebase

Hello, all my name is Amit Kumar Singh. I did a random search for React Native projects GSoC 2020 and got to know about Joplin. I have some experience working with React Native. I have made an app on React Native “https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.feelin
In frontend I have used

• React Native 58
  • Redux
  • Socket.io Client
    and for backend I used
  • Nodejs
  • Express
  • Mongodb
  • Socket.io
    and a few other middlewares.

I want to use my skills in contributing to this project as GSoC student for 2020. Please help me know how to get started with React Native contribution

Hello Amit, and welcome here! If you know about React Native, a good first step would be to build the app as described in BUILD.md. Then you can have a look at the GitHub issue tracker to see if there’s something you could fix or implement to make yourself familiar with the codebase. Have a look also at the “good first issue” tag, and if you need any help feel free to post here.

Hey, I was trying to build react native project but while building I got error
ElectronClient/app/gui/ShareNoteDialog.tsx:6:29 - error TS2307: Cannot find module ‘…/…/lib/JoplinServerApi’.

so I went to the file and modified the way it was calling the the module
Screenshot from 2019-12-16 13-06-10
//import JoplinServerApi from ‘…/lib/JoplinServerApi’;
const { JoplinServerApi } = require(‘lib/JoplinServerApi’);

and after modifying I didn’t got any error.
so is it kinda bug or what ?
maybe other users may face this issue while building the project

Hi, please have a look at BUILD.md and follow the steps there. If it doesn’t work for you, please let us know what step. In particular it seems you have skipped the part about compiling the TypeScript files.

The BUILD.md need to be updated only for Building the Mobile application
All the library is inside ReactNativeClient/lib folder