General compatibility and usage

Requirements: Ubuntu 18.04.3, Joplin 1.0.175.

I am new to using Joplin. I so far like the features (except the lack of spell check) and the general layout and design. For the first time, it looks I found something getting close to what I would call perfect for my wants and needs. The portion I wonder about is general compatibility. I read a few other posts regarding integrations with other softwares like Nextcloud, and this relates to that.

One aspect of open source software I like is the compatibility, with open code and file formats, anyone can write software to open, read and write to the files created. For example, the ODT file created by LibreOffice has no problems working in Microsoft Word, Google Docs, etc … with the exception of a new more advanced formatting portions. So, getting to the point here, let’s say that in 5 years, Joplin is no longer being developed and the last available download will not function due to come changes in technology. I no longer have Joplin installed, but I do have my sync copy on external storage. So:

1. Can I access those files, without Joplin?
  2. If so, what if they are encrypted and I have the key password?

I think that should be enough without writing a novel to express my concerns and get feedback. I have tried OneNote, Simplenote, Zim, EverNote, NixNote, Google Keep, and a few others and none made it past a few weeks of trial before exporting and importing my data to another. I do plan on trying QOwnNotes in parallel as I hear I should like it just as much +/- a few pieces either way. I assume that most users here are current or former users of Joplin. What are your thoughts on the above?

1 Like

In the unlikely event that all three apps suddenly stop working due to a technological change, so sudden that you don’t have time to export your notes, and it’s impossible to get any of the apps working even in a VM, it would still be relatively easy to extract the notes from your sync copy.