Spell check

Hi!

Joplin is the best notepad I see. I think that because is some app to Windows, iOS, Android and Mac, and is synchronization by WebDAV. Now all my notes are keep in my private server and this is the best. But I need spell check. I see issue https://github.com/laurent22/joplin/issues/275 but is blocking by investgate whether Monaco can be used as text editor · Issue #1128 · laurent22/joplin · GitHub and 1128 is closed :frowning: Spell checking is abandon or in development?

4 Likes

I couldn’t agree more. This notepad is terrific and has such a wide range of uses. I’m a writer (or intend to be one), and would really appreciate having a spell checking capability.

1 Like

Hi,
I’d also be interested in a spellchecker.
I found out that LanguageTool (a multi language tool which can “checks your writing in more than 20 languages”) has many plugins here.

1 Like

We use Ace Editor which doesn’t support spell checking as of now. Although Typora can be used, open the Note with the “Edit in external Editor”. Typora has a great Spellcheck, but you can use every other Markdown Editor.

2 Likes

Yes, while that is an option LanguageTool already is compatible with Markdown languages for grammar correction, it just has to be created really. I think it can work with just about anything, and it'll correct what it has rules for.
Would this be a simple implementation? I'm savvy with computers but know nothing about the realm of coding and plugin creation.