Simple Note (JSON) to Joplin (ENEX) - python script

Hi
I’ve written a python script to convert Simple Note export JSON files into ENEX.
Available at https://github.com/rpgd60/simplenote2enex

The ENEX file format generated by the tool is based on EverNote’s ENEX sample

Even if you do not use Simple Note, I would appreciate feedback on the “quality” (from general and a Joplin import point of view) of the generated ENEX format.

A sample ENEX file generated by the script is available at : https://github.com/rpgd60/simplenote2enex/blob/master/all.test1.enex

Thanks for any comments or feedback
Rafa

6 Likes

This is likely user error as I'm pretty new to dealing with Python, but I get this error after trying to run your script from PowerShell on Windows 10:

File "", line 1
simplenote2joplin.py --json-file notes.json --author 'insert name' --create-title --verbose-level 1 > all_notes_converted.enex
^^^^^
SyntaxError: invalid syntax

Is this the complete traceback? File "" looks odd.

I'm not familiar with windows and didn't use the script, but here are a few general ideas. Maybe they can help identifying the issue:

1. Is your complete command on one line? Should be something like
python simplenote2joplin.py --json-file notes.json --author 'insert name' --create-title --verbose-level 1 > all_notes_converted.enex
  1. Are you using python 3.6 or newer (as mentioned in the readme)? You can check your python version by python -V

As an alternative approach, you could try: Effilicious | Simplenote to Joplin import tutorial

Yep, this was tried on 3.12.0.

And no, that's not the whole traceback; it didn't render properly because I didn't enclose it in pre-formatted markdown text when I copy-pasted.

>>> simplenote2joplin.py --json-file notes.json --author 'insert name' --create-title --verbose-level 1 > all_notes_converted.enex
  File "<stdin>", line 1