Select Highlight Color

A feature I have found helpful is to be able to use different highlighter colors in my notes.

One use case I had for it was using the highlighter to quickly tag certain tasks with a color representing priority or importance.

I might have 3 items each with a different priority so I would highlight one RED, for top priority, YELLOW for next highest priority and BLUE for least priority.

2 Likes

Assuming that you're using the Markdown editor, check out this plugin. It adds a lot of features to the editor, but you can tick each of them on or off in the settings.

What you're looking for, is this option:

Another, more specific plugin is Text Colorize, which I haven't personally tried yet.

2 Likes

I appreciate the tip. I'm afraid I'm not a programmer so I'm a bit lost on how to install a plugin. I got as far as downloading a zip file and then trying to install it in Joplin but there's no .jpl file.

I'll have to engage with the developer to figure it out later.

Thanks again!

It's easier than you might think. All plugins are just a few clicks away from within the Joplin app.

1. Go to Joplin settings.
  2. Look for the "Plugins" tab / page / window in the settings.
  3. Search for the plugin that you want.
  4. Click on "Install".
  5. Restart Joplin for the plugin to become active.

Here's how it should look:

3 Likes

Ok - thanks for the clarification. I've found and installed enhancement 1.2.1. I verified the setting "Show a formatting bar..." is enabled.

Unfortunately there's no formatting bar when I select text and I still have the old yellow highlight color. I've also sprouted some new items in the bar which I have to hover over to determine what they do.

When I select a text, this pops up: (I highlighted everything but the last word, which is the one selected.)