Home / GitHub Page

Missing Master Key

When I do a full sync, I’m missing a master key, so I quite a few of my notes are still encrypted. Also, I have a ton of different master keys for some reason. How can I removed those?

Version: 1.0.170 (prod, linux)
Operating System: ArchLinux
log.txt (45.5 KB)

@PopeRigby The keys will sync, and you should be okay once they do. You will be prompted to enter the password and the notice will clear. It took ~24 hours for mine to sync. I’ve heard others say it took 3 days.
If it’s a Windows client, you cannot remove the keys. If Linux, you can remove them by deleting the profile /home/username/.joplin and deleting the data from your sync folder… basically starting over again. Yes, I do see ArchLinux on your post. I included the Windows inability for reference.

If it takes 24h to sync the master key, then there’s something wrong. Either with the current architecture or the sync algorithm. @laurent I can’t believe that it takes up to 3 days for a key to sync. Maybe keys should be stored in a separate directory on the sync target, like .keys. The current implementation seems too fragile. It’s madness to wait 3 days for the data to decrypt. I’ve never used encryption, so I don’t know the code in that area, but if there’s a dedicated directory it should be easy to sync that data first, instead of downloading all md files and hoping that there is one with the master key type_ in the meta data.

Is there a way to just purge all the master keys from everywhere? I want to start over with encryption.

By my understanding the keys are just a small bit of text in the database, On the Linux side I have been able to delete the database and start over successfully. On Windows, however, I deleted every file I could find, used uninstaller software, and manually scanned the registry, and yet the keys remain.