Can't set password for encryption key

I am using Joplin 1.0.175-2 on Arch as well as on Android. There was some kind of snafu in setting up a new Android client and now there is apparently an orphaned master key. There is a banner at the top of my Joplin desktop client saying “One or more master keys need a password,” with “Set the password” as an active link that brings up encryption options.

On the encryption options page, I have my main/default master key that I’ve been using for over a year. I also have a “Missing Master Key” with only the key ID showing – no way to set a password or otherwise change or remove the key.

I’d like to remove this key or at the very least set the password for it. How can I do this?

1 Like

Bump

I ran into the same issue across all three of my platforms the first day I started messing around with Joplin. Also, glad to see someone else here is an Arch user (although, I'm now using Artix, an off-shoot with a focus on removing Systemd altogether, but I digress).

The solution I found (despite being a pain to do if you have a large amount of notes and to-do lists) was as follows:

1. Backup everything. I would highly recommend making a Jex file export that is encrypted (in case) and syncing that with whatever cloud service you are using.

2. Make a full sync across all of your platforms and make sure they all have the same files and changes made (don't want there to be any loss of notes or information).

3. If conflicts arise (you'll see them at the bottom of your left pane under all of your notebooks), make sure you fix those quickly. All of the ones I've ran into were easily fixed by just deleted the conflicts (since they were old versions that were updated in my main notebooks).