Learning Joplin For Beginners

Ahoy! (you can introduce yourself that way when you live on a boat) And Gudday! (You get to say that when you are Australian). Looking for some help. I am new here and have joined the Joplin community to start learning this useful app. I have been using Evernote for many years but decided to switch to Joplin. What I am looking for is a place that I can learn Joplin e.g. a youtube channel (or similar) where I can watch and copy tutorials to teach myself how to get the most out of Joplin. If any of you kind people can point me in the right direction, I will be very happy and grateful.

Captain Anderson

I don't know if there are any official or otherwise how-to youtube videos (mostly I saw reviews before coming over), but if you're coming over from Evernote, Joplin is fairly similar. If there are particular things you did in Evernote, but don't know how to replicate here, ask away. Not every feature in Evernote is available here, but there are features in Joplin that are not available in Evernote (also depends on which version of EN you were using - Win or Mac).

1 Like

Thanks for the response, mate. Joplin does seem pretty easy to muddle my way through. I was setting up the synch to dropbox and figured I must be doing something wrong because. My notes / notebooks will duplicate there but they have long, auto-generated, alpha-numeric titles that would make it pretty hard to manage efficiently. Simple things like that I was hoping to learn without having to make all of the mistakes first.

A good tip is to go through the menus, and check what's available there. In general we try to make sure that any feature has a corresponding menu item as that makes it self-documenting, so if you want to get an idea of what the app can do, simply checking the menu is a good way.

2 Likes

Ahoy Captain. You can say that if you are in Slovakia :wink: