How to import SOHO Notes notes into Joplin?

Hello,

I’m trying to learn how to use Joplin 1.0.170 on macOS 10.11.6. I’d like to import notes from an old note-taking program called “SOHO Notes,” which can export notes either as Rich Text or Plain Text formats. I was wondering how I can import these formats into Joplin. Thank you very much.

You could export them as text, then import them into Joplin.

For anything more advanced, like importing rich text, you’d have to use pandoc first.

Thank you Laurent for your help. I’ll try out this pandoc program to convert rich text tiles to a format Joplin can import.

I installed Pandoc, tried it out, and unfortunately found out that it can’t convert rich text (.rtfd) to markdown. Could I have further help regarding this process, or if that isn’t possible, is the only to convert my notes for Joplin from plain text to markdown? I apologize that I’m new to these text format conversions. Thank you very much.

A quick google search brings up this result which looks promising. I’m not familiar with macos commands, but you could probably tweak the answer to convert files (rather than stdin).

Thank you very much for looking this up. I’ve already seen that page, but I appreciate the suggestion. Some of the comments were not very encouraging, so I haven’t tried the two methods in the Stack Overflow thread. I’m also very code-averse (I can barely use MATLAB), which is why I never attempted these methods. Nevertheless, perhaps I should be more brave and try them out.

I see, I wish I could be more help but I don’t have the experience necessary. Good luck I hope you find a decent solution.

One thought actually, you might be able to import your notes into notelife using the free trial, and then export them into a more reasonable format from there. Could be worth a try.