Editor, viewer and split mode

Joplin: 2.11.11

Sorry if my English isn't good enough, but I'm sure, you will understand my problem.

Am I the only Joplin user with problems knowing in which mode I am?
I almost never know if I'm in Markdown editor, WYSIWYG editor, viewer ... and then guessing with clicking and trying writing on icons (for changing mode or/and layout). This really isn't user-friendly. I've been using Joplin for over three years and still have daily problems with this.
The current state should be much more visible/understandable.

Besides that, I often have problems with pasting an image. I'm not sure yet (still following the exact problem), but I think the problem is when an image is COPY in MS Office programs (Word for example).
PASTE in Paint (for example) works, but it doesn't work in Joplin. This must be a bug. In combination with above-described differentiation problem, this leads to a lot of swearwords.

Any idea how to help a keen Joplin user?

1 Like

@kacnje
I assume we are talking about Joplin on a desktop. If that is true ...
a) I agree with your observation, but
b) looking at the icon in the top right (showing an M and a pad with a stylus) you can tell in which mode you are.

Concerning your pasting problem, you are not the only one. Others have had the same complaint. But it seems it is a "office365 only" problem. Not a Joplin problem. There are two solutions.

1. use an offline version of MS office, or
  2. paste your image into another application (for example text on mac, or notes on windows),
    copied it again, and paste into Joplin.
    The second is not an ideal solution, but it works.

Thank you for your answer.
Yes, I'm talking about Joplin on a desktop (Windows and Linux).
Please, check the next two screenshots.

Two main issues I have with understanding both screenshots.

1. I would expect, that the first image will look similar to what follows now, but without the image (only ![85f4ec......png]):