A way to paste text from Word and keep formating?

Hi, I am new to Joplin.

I have quite a lot of files in Microsoft Word that I would like to have pasted into Joplin. But I can't seem to paste text properly. The formatting gets all weird once I leave my note, at first it is fine.
I am only using The Rich Text editor, not markdown.

Any tips? - if it is even possible? (Any plugins that does this?)

Thanks!

There's an ongoing project to develop a plugin that'd allow pasting content from different sources: Paste Special Project - #9 by coderrsid

2 Likes

What part for example is not pasted properly, do you have an example? But in general Word is obviously a much more capable editor than Joplin, so you'll never be able to 100% import everything, but basic formatting normally should be pasted properly.

1 Like

First photo shows right after import, the second after closing and opening the note.

Its basic formatting, bullet points which get moved.

1 Like

Looks very interesting! Would love an update when it's available!

@laurent also, the arrow format in word (-->) turns into รก when pasting into joplin.

1 Like

If I copy and paste that kind of document from LibreOffice it works fine and bullet points remain bullet points. Probably the issue is that Word generates HTML that's not quite standard so part of the formatting gets lost afterwards.

Have you tried exporting the file as HTML and importing it into Joplin?

Sorry for being a noob at this, but how do I import a HTML file into Joplin? @laurent

I don't know if this helps but I use a Word plugin called Writage to export Word files as markdown and then copy/paste or import the resulting markdown files.

Here is an article about Writage (which I have nothing to do with except as a user): How Microsoft Word Can Be Your Favorite Markdown Editor

It works both ways. I can also copy/paste a markdown note from Joplin into Word and have it work almost seamlessly.

4 Likes