.config folder can get quite big. There's a post on this forum asking for people to report their config folder size and some are multiple gigabytes!
I disagree that the user data should be removed with the app when uninstalling. A common method of correcting an install that has gone "bad" is to uninstall and then reinstall the app. If it defaults to deleting all user data that is going to cause quite a problem. Also I do not know how the installer currently works when upgrading. If it just overwrites the current app then there is not problem. If it uninstalls and then installs the new version then the act of just upgrading could destroy all user data. Not a good thing.
I do agree that it may be good to have the ability to purge the user data upon uninstall - as long as it was not on by default and it was made very clear what was going to happen.
Whether the installer creator @laurent uses can do this is another thing however. Also the user data folder does not have to be located at
--profile option when lauching Joplin will let the user place their config folder pretty much anywhere. The uninstaller will not, possibly cannot, know where that is as it is an argument manually appended by the user to the Joplin executable when launching / creating a shortcut.
If this is seen as a something that should be addressed I am wondering whether the uninstaller could at least display a message upon completion stating that the user data has not been deleted and where it is located by default. Anyone who has set up a
--profile path, due to the very act of doing so, must know where their user data actually is.
I have to make it clear I am not a dev, just a long-time user having a discussion with another long-time user