Sync between machines

Hello

I’m new to Joplin and tried to put a simple setup in place: taking notes on a Android tablet and a Windows PC and having notes kept in sync between the two machines… but totally failed.

My Android 8.1 tablet has Joplin 1.0.312 installed on it. I have a single notebook, containing a single note (text only). I have deleted the notebook and notes that are created by default. I have setup synchronization targeting the file system, with a path of /storage/emulated/0/Documents/Joplin (side-note: I had to find the path using another app, the configuration field provide no help, having the equivalent of a “file picker” would be more user-friendly).

When I synchronize, two “.md” files are created in this directory, and also 3 directories with a name starting with a dot. Side-note: those files are not Mardown files, as the name implies, more like a mix of YAML and JSON, and are not made to be modified by the user; “.md” files are supposed to be human-editable text files with a markdown syntax, so that choice of extension is confusing.

First question: there seems to be a JEX file format that Joplin can work with, how can I sync my note to a Jex file on Android? Having a single file instead of a directory structure would be more convenient for reasons I’ll describe below.

By connecting my tablet to my PC (running Windows 7) via USB, I can access and copy the .md files to a local directory (the hidden “dot” directories are not exposed by Android and cannot be copied, even when Windows is configured to show hidden directories). Using Joplin portable v1.0.175, I tried to import the notes using the “Import > RAW Joplin Directory” by then I get an error : SQLITE_CONSTRAINT: NOT NULL. When I recreate the .lock/.ressource/.sync directories and their content exactly as they are on the Android directory, I get the same error when trying to import.