Proposal for GSoC 2021

Warm greetings to the dynamic Joplin Community :smiley:. I could not find the template in the About the GSoC category post (its resulting in 404 Error), so I am creating my own format for the introduction.

I am Tapajyoti Bose, an avid Open Source Contributor :man_technologist: who has contributed to several large Open Source Projects as can be seen on my GitHub. You may also visit my Portfolio to check out my experience in this field. I have also worked with Electron in quite a few projects before.

I would like to work on the Paste special idea as suggested in the GSoC 2021 idea list. I would also like to work an additional small idea :bulb:: Developing a Custom Window Top-Bar for the Desktop App, which would also solve Make menu bar black with dark themes issue. I would be requiring some help from the community (especially @CalebJohn , @tessus , @roman_r_m, the potential mentors for the Paste special idea) as I am new to the code base and don't know how it works.

2 Likes

Hi Tapajyoti

I suggest you start by fixing one of open issues, maybe the one you've mentioned, before adding any new functionality.

1 Like

I have started working on it, but cannot understand how to style the components (the theme.js mentioned in CONTRIBUTING.md isn't present). Could you please guide me a bit on that?

Maybe see how other components are styled?

If you notice an error in docs feel free to submit a separate PR to fix it.

CONTRIBUTING.md#coding-style says:

For changes made to the Desktop client that affect the user interface, refer to packages/app-desktop/theme.ts for all styling information. The goal is to create a consistent user interface to allow for easy navigation of Joplin's various features and improve the overall user experience.

But the file isn't present. I don't know how to correct the doc.

Maybe you could use your code editors search functionality and search for "theme.ts".