Joplin Features Evaluation toward a Roadmap for an Outstanding Note-taking App

Some intro...

I liked Joplin since I know it in Dec 2019. Adding to that, the developers and community here are very supportive and friendly.

I've been using Evernote since it's open for beta in 2008 and during these years I evaluated a lot of note-taking softwares but didn't find any that compete with it until Joplin appear in the game :slight_smile:

Although Joplin is strongly competing with Evernote, however, still (in my opinion) need some features to overcome Evernote completely and even become the outstanding product in the market.

In my process of evaluation any software, I weight the importance of every feature to me (from 0-5) and how the software fulfil this feature. This simple method give me much help in making fast choices. (I may post later my own evaluation of some note-taking apps, like Evernote, Joplin, Org mode, Workflowly, Boostnote, Simplenote, Notion, TiddlyWiki - if you need to add any more, let me know).

Here I collected all features that an outstanding note-taking app like Joplin should consider and put my evaluation (from 0 to 3) to every feature as per my needs and I urge the community members here to collaborate on the same sheet. May be this will give insight about prioritizing features and bug fixes to dev team.

Steps

1. Open "Evaluation" sheet,
  2. Add your discourse tag name (e.g. @rami.sedhom) in a new column in "Evaluation" sheet,
  3. Start your evaluation for each unbold feature using number from 0 to 3 using MoSCo method:
Weights based on MoSCo
0 = I don't need this feature at all
1 = Could/nice to have this feature
2 = Should have this feature
3 = Must have this feature

Simple guidelines

• Don't edit existing column,
  • Keep comments here, not on the sheet,
  • Feature and calculation columns (column A:B) and group rows are locked, however if you want to add feature, put it in a comment here and I'll do my best to add it to sheet asap,