I’d Like Your Opinions on Pen Support Implementation

Hello everybody,

I’m going to take a crack at adding some pen support to the Joplin app. I’d like your thoughts and opinions on how you guys think this would support your needs.

Quick background on myself: I’m a software engineer, and I have a lot of experience working on WPF Windows desktop applications with material design and MVVM. I currently work for a company developing medical devices. I’m no electron expert, and it will take me a bit to ramp up to how I need to integrate features into Joplin, but I’ll do my best. I’ve been using Joplin for a while now, so I want to give back some.

Ok, on to the fun stuff. I’d first like to focus first on pen integration with the iPad. IMO, this tablet would have the largest initial ROI on feature distribution.

There’s a couple things I want to keep at the forefront of my mind while developing this feature. Pen development (at least in mind) can either be awesome, or just really terrible depending on the implementation. I’ve used some pen implementations on different devices in the past, and because the experience was so bad, I never ended up using it. Because of this, I think I’d like to try something like the following:

Based on the underlying OS (iPad OS/iOS or Android), rather than building/integrating drawing features based on a drawing library or standing one up from scratch, I’d like to integrate the OS’ native Pen feature set into Joplin. My two paths forward for the iPad below:

• Have the ability to take notes directly from the notes app and display in Joplin, with the ability to edit them and have the resulting edit reflected in Joplin. This could look something like the current PDF display, with the note attachment displayed as a file link, and the preview beneath. To do the back and forth transfer of the attached note file in Joplin to the Notes app, I’d assume the iPad OS/iOS sharing feature will need to be utilized.