How to save PDF to Joplin

Hello

I'm new to Joplin, migrating from Evernote.

With Evernote, I was able to "Save PDF to Evernote" via the print dialog. This was a very convenient way to save any document as a PDF file in Evernote. It would arrive in my Evernote inbox and from there I could move it to a folder and assign a tag.

Is there some permission I can set on my Mac that will allow me to save PDFs to Joplin?

I have relied on this functionality in Evernote all the time, so I'm really hoping to be able to do this in Joplin.

Is it possible?

Joplin 1.5.14 (prod, darwin)
MacOS Big Sur version 11.1

Joplin is a react app, which uses Electron on macOS/Linux/Win and react-native on mobile.

Unless someone writes a native macOS service extension this won't be possible. Or you could ask the Electron developers to provide such a service on macOS.

Update: I always wanted something like Send to Joplin on macOS, but unfortunately that would require native code and is out of the scope for this project. Personally I am no longer interested in coding for macOS, since Apple has made it less and less fun over the past years.... But maybe somebody else wants to look into it, who knows. A lot of people in this forum came up with great solutions.

Thanks, @tessus. I appreciate your prompt reply. It's good to know about this limitation. Unfortunately it's a bit of a show-stopper for me, as I have relied heavily on the "Print to Evernote" functionality.

Very happy so far with the other features of Joplin, which seems to be fast and efficient, and I love the encryption; but I guess I'll have to keep searching for an app that better suits my needs.

What is with the Option Save as PDF and make a Hotfolder for importing to Joplin?

I think that is a great idea.