Gitpod support

For a couple of days I had to change my usual development environment(linux) and switch to windows but I was having some problems while setting up the dev environment.
So I thought it will be really nice if we can setup ready-to-code env with Gitpod to ease up the setup for everyone. FreeCodeCamp also provides the same with gitpod Link to page.
Sorry if this has been already discussed.

Honestly I don't think this would (should?) be necessary - Joplin is really pretty easy to set up a dev environment for and I'm not saying that from a point of experience as I'm not a developer or programmer, Joplin was the first thing I've ever built from source and played around in the code base for yet so far I've managed to set up working environments for:

• Windows 10
  • Linux Mint
  • macOS
  • Android (via Linux Mint)

I've had a few issues but they were either due to bugs (the dreaded uslug) or issues with the migration to yarn - both of which have been ironed out.
Not to mention the education aspect of it - I've learnt a huge amount whilst setting up these environments which is not Joplin specific.

1 Like

Yep! It is very easy to set up. I am just saying it can be good-to-have feature. In my opinion it will reduce the barrier for first time contributors.

I also agree since I learned about monorepos while setting up Joplin.

Also as I understand anyone could set up the project there, it doesn't have to be done officially by the project, or does it? In that case, anyone could do it and simply post about it on the forum. If it works well we could link to it from BUILD.md as an unofficial development method.

1 Like

Okay I will give it a try if it works I will post it here.

1 Like

Hey,
I was able to make .gitpod.yml file for our codebase. It took a bit long as I am not that familiar with this. It is as follows:
1 .gitpod.yml:

tasks:
  - before: 
          sudo apt-get update &&