Firefox web clipper not in Add-ons store?

Hi everyone,
I’m very new to Joplin so I apologise if I’m missing something obvious.

When I try to install the web clipper in Firefox, I follow the link from the Options menu and he Firefox Add-on store gives me an “Oops! We can’t find that page” error. I’ve tried searching and still didn’t find it.
This is the link it gives me:
https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/joplin-web-clipper/

The web clipper installs and works fine in Chrome, though.

Any thoughts? Can I download the XPI somewhere and install it manually?

Thanks,
ed.

Joplin 1.0.179 (prod, win32)

1 Like

Those morons who review the add-on at Mozilla removed it for some idiotic reason. I think they don’t like us, or maybe they are just stupid. We are working on it.

4 Likes

Ahh, that’s annoying. I suppose there’s no way to manually download and install the add-on? At least temporarily?

You can try it on Chrome in the meantime.

It’s a recent removal as I only downloaded it in the last few days. I did notice that the page had a “This extension cannot be verified by Mozilla” type of banner on it.

Dropping this to get notifications

They took it down yesterday because the code makes use a feature they suddenly don’t like. It’s been in there since the very first version, and the add-on has been through multiple automated and manual reviews, and it was fine, so suddenly taking it off makes no sense. Also they did this with no warning at all, leaving us no time to fix the issue and resubmit.

That’s pretty bad of Mozilla to be honest - not cool towards developers who after all drive some users to their browsers, and not nice to the users either, who now can’t download the clipper anymore. Google has a bad reputation but in fact they’ve been much more professional - they do automated reviews, and either it passes or not, but they don’t kill add-ons out of the blue like Mozilla did.