Problems with Joplin Portable

I’ve installed Joplin in Windows 10 with setup, but later I’ve deinstalled the program. Now I want to use the portable version of Joplin. When I start Joplin Portable it creates the folder tmp and ressources in the folder where Joplin Portable is stored. But the notes are created in C:\Users<Username>\AppData\Roaming\Joplin. I’ve searched the registry for all Joplin Entries and deleted them, but it was no solution. Any idea, why Joplin Portable uses the userfolder instead of the portable folder?

I’m new to Joplin and am evaluating the Windows Desktop Portable Version and was about to post a new topic “Is JoplinPortable really portable?” when the sidebar found this topic which has had no reply in 14 months

When first run it creates it’s JoplinProfile folder tree next to itself on the USB drive BUT it also creates a Joplin folder tree in AppData\Roaming which means it isn’t strictly portable.

See https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Portable_application extract “storing its program files and any configuration information and data on the storage medium alone

Please may msel and I have your thoughts?

It seems those files are created by Electron and not by Joplin itself.
And removing these field did not seem to break anything for me so I’d say it’s still portable.

So when I run Joplin from my USB device on someone’s PC I have to remember to clean up so that I don’t leave any data there. Perhaps JoplinPortable could do that to be considered fully portable?

Well, your data that is the notes is still stored in the portable folder.
I don’t think you are at any more risk by having some application specific config left over than you are at by running your program on an unknown computer in the first place

Agreed, but you are missing my point. For an app to be considered truly portable it mustn’t leave stuff on the PC it runs on.

1 Like