Other great note takers and points for improvement for Joplin

I have been using Joplin for 2 years now and it has truly changed what note taking meant for me and the fact that it keep evolving and the community behind it is something amazing. However there are still things I would like to have but I wasn't able to find them anywhere in any note taking app... until this week cause I stumbled upon trilium.

I really recommend to try it out especially developers working on Joplin to give it a try just to take some ideas from it maybe it can spark some collaboration between the teams.

Joplin has come a long way so I doubt anything can take it's place for me but it's good to see other apps doing things differently

3 Likes

Could you give us some specifics as to what you like in that app and would like to see in Joplin?

There are things like some UI elements which are might be more user friendly for someone who just wants to use the app, I don't really mind the UI of Joplin with some CSS trick and plugins it's decent and does what I need.

But then there are something I am not sure how I can explain them in words or images cause you need to see them and play with them to understand.

For example, you don't just have notebooks with notes in them. Instead there are different types (classes) of "notebooks" example a book. A book will display an overview of all the notes that it has in it as soon as you click on it and you can click on the note and go directly to it.