Opening attachments on iPad

Hi,
Below might just be a newbie question but I am completely new to Apple products.

For work related purposes I bought myself an iPad and installed Joplin version 10.5.1 on iPadOS version 14.3.
I sync Joplin through my nextcloud server with Joplin version 1.5.14 on Ubuntu 20.04 LTS and Android phone (but thats nor relevant here).
I have added a lot of Open Document Format files and some pdf's in Joplin.
When I am opening an attachment I see some difference between my iPad and Ubuntu.
I have tried this for 3 types of file extensions (PDF, XLS and ODS) but it might also apply to other file types.

Ubuntu:
XLS, PDF or ODS attachments are all opened in external application and not saved locally (different location then Joplin uses)

iPad
When I am opening a XLS/pdf file I get some kind of apple preview file screen ( I think this is quick look) and the file is shown (as in Ubuntu). The file can not be changed but thats not a problem.
When I am opening a ODS file it will not show immediately (it shows filename and file type, fe open document spreadsheet). To view the file I need to open it 'externally' with the icon in the top right corner. But then the file is also saved locally which I dont want.

Is there any solution for this? I presume its Apple related anyway.

Please scroll down the list of latest posts and read a post called "attachments - in and out", just a few days old.

Thanks for your reply, but I dont get what you want to say with your comment here. There is no solution mentioned in your posts, its just a bit of testing like I did, but with a different setup. Next to that I dont agree with your 'expected behaviour', but lets not get into that discussion. My goal is to easily see all attachments, with different filetypes and I am looking for a solution.