Linux - Profile switch warning

When changing profiles on a Linux system the Joplin application suddenly closes and looks like a program crash (it isn't). It is suggested that when changing profiles on Linux the restart warning used for plugins is triggered.

shutdown

2 Likes

I noticed this some time ago, too. It's a little bit irritating. I have looked into it and it seems to be like this because the profile switching calls restart with a false argument

and thus doesn't open the message box here (because linuxSafeRestart is false):

3 Likes

Maybe we could actually remove this exception for Linux. I assume it was added because some distro somewhere didn't handle restart properly. If someone is willing to remove that exception and test I'd be happy to merge

1 Like

Hello
I'm not a developer, but I can't wait for you to make it quick and easy to switch from one profile to another

Hello
At the moment I'm not using this because of the problem of switching quickly.
Is it planned? next version?

FYI

1 Like

I changed the code to the following and it's working fine seemingly without any issue. I run it on Manjaro KDE Wayland.

Note I changed app.exit() to app.quit(). quit is supposed to do a graceful exit.

public restart(linuxSafeRestart = true) {
		const { app } = require('electron');

if (shim.isPortable()) {
			const options = {
				execPath: process.env.PORTABLE_EXECUTABLE_FILE,
			};
			app.relaunch(options);
		} else if (shim.isLinux() && linuxSafeRestart) {
			// this.showInfoMessageBox(_('The app is now going to close. Please relaunch it to complete the process.'));
			app.relaunch();
		} else {
			app.relaunch();
		}

// app.exit();
		app.quit();
	}

Any chance you could create a PR with this?

Any chance you could create a PR with this?

Seems not easy to do at the moment without messing up my existing repository. This will be together in my upcoming PR.