Joplin Icon & identity

Hi everyone, I have just installed Joplin as an Evernote replacement, and think it's a really neat application!

The only thing I dislike, is the icon, which as a designer, I think looks a little 'unpolished'.

I was looking at the J for a long time and then realised that the tail looks a little like an elephant's trunk, which is kind of a neat link with Evernote.

I wanted to create something a bit more interesting that made reference to Evernote without copying it, but retaining the J identity that is synonymous with Joplin.

I created some initial sketch ideas This is the first:
Option%201

It would be good to see what some of the forum users think :slight_smile:

1 Like

This is the second:

also see:

This is the third:

Option%203

That thread is closed. Some of the suggestions are okay, some not.
The question " * If Joplin was a person what personality and characteristics would it have?" I personally found a bit silly.

Most software is simply software and doesn’t have much of a character at all. This question is a very good one to apply to product design and company logos, but for a product which already exists, and is fundamentally utilitarian, it’s arguably pointless.

My starting point was that the J is meaningless in and of itself. Joplin, from an English speaker’s point of view is simply the surname of a singer, which bears no relationship to the nature of the product. Using the J simply because it’s the initial of the application name is the only justification for using it.

However it is established, and getting rid of it seems to make no sense to me.