Is Markdown the right tool for the type of notes I take?

Hi there,

I’d like to hear your opinion. I’ve been using software to take notes for years: I started with Keynote NF a long time ago, then Essential PIM, Mempad, and many others to finally settle with OneNote.
They all have their strengths and weaknesses and the reason why now I’m again looking at some alternatives is because of a few things lacking in OneNote: disk space (it only works on Onedrive), a better search function, and nodes sorting.

I have tried several markdown editors a few times already and I always liked them but never enough to make the switch. What I always failed to see is the advantage of spending more time formatting the text, couldn’t really figure out what for and I know I must miss the point (which is why I’m here).

I mostly collect links, screenshots (I’m a designer and I collect visual references for my work), and ideas for my projects.
I’m now trying Joplin. There are things I like, some things not too much, and a couple of things I miss. But mostly, considered the types of notes I take, does Joplin (or any markdown editor in general) make sense for me, or should I look somewhere else?
For instance, in regards to the search function (which, in Joplin, I haven’t explored yet), are there some advantages compared to a more generic search function? Also, considered my notebooks will be filled up with images, would a beefy notebook slow down Joplin’s overall performance?

Lastly, some indication of how people are taking advantage of Joplin would help as well.

Thanks

There is a WYSIWYG editor in Joplin, so you dont have to use Markdown directly.

If that's what you use Joplin for, then the Markdown shouldn't bother you. Images and links are both easily managed without really using Markdown.

There is a GSoC project underway which would vastly improve the search feature of Joplin. Also it depends a lot on what you are searching for.