I created a new logo for joplin-utils

I've been in the joplin community for almost two years, during which time I've created some surrounding community tools (including plugins, cli apps, and npm toolkits) and a website explaining these tools. Before, the website has been using the joplin logo, but now, I have recreated a logo for the website to represent the related tools based on joplin that have been completed so far.

Clockwise is

• joplin vscode plugin
  • joplin-api npm package
  • joplin-batch-web visual batch processing
  • google search integrated chrome plugin
  • publish wiki/blog cli

website

3 Likes

Just a comment, and I'm not a lawyer, but it looks quite risky to use other companies' logos/icons like that (e.g. Google is very specific about this, see https://about.google/brand-resource-center/brand-elements/#product-icons).

1 Like

Well, I reduced the size of the surrounding icon, maybe that would be better? (Maybe I'm wrong, but do they care about personal non-commercial use?)

logo (1)

Google sounds fine based on their wording:

You may use small depictions of our Google product icons for educational or informational purposes to indicate that your product or service integrates with, is designed for, or is related to a Google product or service – but you can’t imply affiliation with or endorsement from Google.

As the tool is designed to work with google search in chrome then it sounds like it falls under that umbrella.

There's a similar rule for usage of the Joplin logo, but I think it's fine in this case since the website implies that the tools are non-official.

1 Like

Well, in the end I chose to shrink the icons for all external references and highlight the connections relationships

3 Likes

I was thinking specifically about "don’t lock up our product icon with your own logo/icon".