How to store Joplin notes in Cryptomator

I've been trying and failing to get Cryptomator to provide at-rest encryption of Joplin notes on a Linux/Ubuntu system. In the second half of this post I've detailed my process and I'd love help on sorting it out!

I am new to Joplin but have spent many hours researching this process, mostly on this discussion forum. I am migrating from Evernote to Joplin for security reasons. I note previous discourse on (a) incorporating at-rest encryption into Joplin and (b) using third party tools to provide at-rest encryption for Joplin notes, including this thread with this quote:

And I note the recommendation to use symbolic links on linux systems for this purpose.

I haven't found a clear guide for integrating Joplin with Cryptomator, in spite of several suggestions that it can work. Perhaps this thread can establish such a guide.

My process is this:

• Install Snap version of Joplin (v2.6.10)
  • Open Joplin to initiate creation of the standard application files and user profile.
  • Close Joplin to free these files from locking/use by the application.
  • Copy these files, i.e., the folder $HOME/snap/joplin-desktop/ to a location in my Cryptomator vault. Note, the vault has to be open for this to work.
  • Delete the original folder ($HOME/snap/joplin-desktop/) and replace it with a symlink to the location in the Cryptomator vault.
  • Try to open Joplin (via the Ubuntu GUI)
  • Discover that Joplin won't open!

I've done this process twice and checked the operation of the links with a file manager, so I'm confident that the process I've described has been conducted as stated. After the first time, I deleted the symbolic link and copied the Joplin files back to their original location ($HOME/snap/joplin-desktop/). I was then able to open Joplin as per normal again.