How to search substring of string?

Hello,

How to search substring in a string?

example:

note:

abcdefghijklmnopqrstuvwxyz

I want to search and find ANY string contain string: “mno”

How to do this?

All the supported search requests are documented: https://joplinapp.org/#searching

Currently searching in the middle of a string is not possible due to the way indexing works.

1 Like

Thanks...

I know this link: https://joplinapp.org/#searching but I thought i can not understand :slight_smile:

I believe this to be a big hole in Joplin, and am reviving an old topic in preference to starting a redundant one, hoping that is acceptable. I've been using Joplin for a few months, and like it pretty well, but am surprised and disappointed that substring search is unsupported.

Even more surprising was the argument in #1677 that that is behavior that non-technical users would expect. I am a technical user, and grew up on UNIX systems where of course substrng search is not only supported, but obviously "natural."

The absence of this feature is a mistake.

1 Like

@mike1010 welcome to the forum.

This thread is over two years old and I think that during the last GSoC the search functions had a thorough overhaul.

I have just looked at the queries section of the Joplin site and it mentions "Switch to basic search" which states:

... You switch to this mode by prefixing your search with a slash / . This won't provide the benefits of FTS but it will allow searching exactly for what you need. Note that it can also be much slower, even extremely slow, depending on your query.

I have never used this before but I just searched my notes for /ebserv and it found all notes containing "webserver" (no highlighting of hits though). Is that the kind of search you are looking for?

4 Likes

That is a perfectly good work around, and thank you for it.

My browsing the website did not uncover that for whatever reason.