How to disable auto sync?

If I remember it correctly Joplin always syncs on startup and if you edit a note. That considerably minimises the risk of sync errors, but makes it a little unpredictable.

The forum thread was created before the auto-closing feature was enabled by default. So it does not work on this thread.