Hello World! From Kishlay-notabot

Hi there! I am Kishlay, a creative and passionate student developer. I feel excited to finally have an official start in the open source domain. I'd like to contribute in one of the proposed ideas which is the OCR plugin.

Coincidentally I just finished a research project (A corresponding research paper is also planned with it) a few weeks ago which uses the same technology, Tesseract.js [I will link the project below]. So I have learnt and understood this tool very well and I also raised some PRs and issues in the Tesseract.js repository. I am up to date and have a good grasp with the latest v5 of the Tesseract OCR engine.

This is my first time participating in GSoC, I did read all the info pages but it would be a great help if anyone gives me just a TL;DR for the steps to successfully contribute here, and what to do before the registration window starts.
Thankyou!

2 Likes

I had some questions, now that I've decided to work on a project idea, Do I have to contact the mentor for that program right away, or wait for the registration process? I really am new to this landscape, so I apologize in advance.

Hi @kish!

Tesseract support was recently added to Joplin Desktop by @laurent, though there's still room for improvement. Here are a few things that are missing:

• Functionality:
    • No OCR for handwriting
      • Joplin's mobile handwriting feature stores drawings as SVGs. These are currently skipped by OCR.
      • A possible fix would be to render SVGs as bitmaps before OCR, though this discards information from strokes not visible in the drawing.
    • No OCR on mobile
      • At present, OCR only happens on desktop. OCR search results must then be synced with mobile.
  • UI
    • No visible progress indicator.
    • Doesn't scroll to search results and OCR matches aren't highlighted in the UI.