GSoC Students - Any First Timers Here?

Hey, this is Brandon. This is my first GSoC and first time being a mentor, so I figured I might as well get some discussion going about it.

To be frank, I’m anxious. I don’t know what to expect, nor do I know how far this project will go. It’s kind of exciting at the same time. It’s been forever since I’ve been in school, but events like this always were something I was drawn to just never was good enough to go very far; I’d watch from the sidelines mostly. Seeing what you all come up with will definitely be a trip.

How are you guys feeling about it? I know some of you may be just as anxious. Feel free to share. This forum and community are pretty open minded, and for many of us, this is just as new to us.

5 Likes

@bedwardly-down, I’m a potential GSoC student for Joplin and I must say I’m really anxious and excited. The adrenaline is high and I feel the great energy to start doing something that really matters to thousands of users.

This is my first time of contributing to an open source organization and I must confess, it’s been truly awesome!, in a span of 2 months since I’ve been with Joplin even before it was officially accepted as a mentoring organization for GSoC, I’ve been able to contribute substantially (4 PRs merged, 1 open and more to come), I want to appreciate Laurent, Tessus, Pack Elend and the other hardworking contributors making Joplin a success and doing their best to support students trying to make their mark in Joplin.

I can’t wait for the real party to get started and I wish everyone good luck

2 Likes

Hey Brendon, its really nice to have you as a mentor, your always the first to reply to new posts!, if not anyone I can count on you to acknowledge new posts :wink: