Export Directory Structure

Hey there, new forum poster here.

I’d like to be able to export my notebooks as a directory with the same directory structure as the notebooks themselves (e.g. notebooks and sub-notebooks are directories, notes are files within those directories). Is this already possible, and I just missed how to do it? (I’m using Joplin 1.0.193 win32). If not, I’d like to make this a feature request.

I don’t think this would be too much work given the functionality that already exists. I’m a professional programmer, but have never contributed to an open source project before - but if this isn’t too much work I’d be happy to give this feature a shot if you’d be willing to review the pull request. I’d just need a pointer to the relevant parts of the code base.

Welcome to the forums. I swear this request keeps popping up on and off again here every so often, but I’m not finding the discussions I’m alluding to, so i could be wrong. If I remember correctly, though, the core reason this hasn’t been implemented is due to how Joplin creates and stores its notebooks. They are stored in a non-standard format and each directory is a part of the note files and not actually a real directory, if that makes sense. Of course, exporting as RAW directory might be the closest thing you’re looking for right now, but i could still be wrong there.

As a non-dev, take this with some salt. Ha

File > Export > MD - Markdown will export the structure with notebooks as folders containing the notes as markdown files. The titles of the markdown files will be the titles of the notes.

File > Export > HTML - HTML Directory will export the structure with notebooks as folders containing the notes as HTML files. The titles of the HTML files will be the titles of the notes.

Any resources (attachments) will be in a separate folder. These use the Joplin naming convention (i.e. a long unique string) so that links will work.

Is this useful for you?