Desktop - Moving From Electron to Native to Future-Proof All Platforms

Electron is not a terrible option for getting web apps to work on Windows, Mac and Linux. It’s just not the most ideal route, and if it were to drop support for any one of those, Joplin would be in trouble. It also is bloated and every so often, a platform breaks. Take the Linux 5.5 and 5.6 kernel issues that users have been having or the OSX Catalina rendering issues. The dev team there does eventually fix those but I’d like to find out what you all think about as alternatives.

I’m looking at the Haxe framework due to its ability to compile to native executables for all platforms while also being able to take javascript code as an input and having quite a few ports already made of some of the libraries used for this project.

10 Likes

I am an old fashioned software developer. Experience has taught me that complex frameworks sooner or later tend to become a burden and break up applications.
When using frameworks (and other tools) I must be able to understand them to a sufficiently decent level. I must be able to find and fix problems (so it must be open source). If I can’t then this framework is too complex for me.

When I checkout and build Joplin I end up with 105280 files. This is, by my definition, unmaintainable. You can argue that a lot of these files are from Electron and other 3rd party packages, but each of these packages can stop functioning any time and don’t tell me that they won’t because there are big companies/user groups backing them. Electron broke Joplin several times and Laurent cs. did a great job overcoming incompatible changes far as possible. Some problems were never fixed so we just have to get used to it. That’s a nice, custom-friendly attitude from big companies/user groups, isn’t it?
Also, many of these are pulled in from 3rd party sites during the build/install. I can never be sure it will be the same collection of files that I’m testing.