DEB package script

I've been using Joplin for a few years and I think it's a great project.

One thing that's always bothered me is the the lack of a native *.deb file to install. Something about AppImages just doesn't feel right to me.

So not really knowing anything about JS/TS or Node (but I do know a bit about scripting) I created a script that users can use to create their own *.deb package for Joplin.

It uses Docker so no one has to try to install NodeJS on their system, and keeps things nicely contained.

Feel free to give it a try, and let me know if it could use some improvement.

2 Likes

Thanks for sharing. Would it be difficult to publish the .deb file itself to a repo?

I think it wouldn't be too difficult to publish to a repo, did you have one in mind?

I don't have any in mind, as I'm not familiar with .deb files in general. What I was thinking is to put the .deb on a public repo then user can install the app directly from there, without having to build the Docker image, etc. But I don't know how easy it would be to do it.

Publishing the deb file to an APT repo is the easy part. I can automate the package signing, and build a pipeline that publishes every new Joplin release.

I just wish I had a repo to publish to. I'm not very keen on hosting my own APT repository but I will give it some thought.

Can you publish as a PPA? That should work for most Debian/Ubuntu based distros. Launchpad is super annoying, but it is an easy way to host a archive. I think there is a slo a way to just make the deb file available for download.

Not a bad idea Yann1ck, I'll look into creating a Launchpad account

Its quite easy. You just need a working deb build, you can release that to Launchpad after a successful build.