Using joplin as a daily notebook

Hi everyone, I found Joplin by searching for a notebook that supports tags , can be orginized by topics and can provide option to insert pictures. in other words, I was looking for an alternative to Evernote, and that is what all the articles says in th Web. but the matter is that I am a teacher, not a programmer, and working in Joplin is a disaster for me, it takes a lot of time to write down an ordinary note, and when I need to do it quickly it is not possible for me at all.
So, is there any way to use Joplin in the mode of old-fashioned Text editor, not in Markdown format ? just to write down smth when i need to, without constantly lookin in the web how to code text allign and so on ? :laughing:
thanks

@ivanivanov4224, Joplin uses Markdown as its main backend and thereā€™s not really anyway to not have it there. There is an experimental WYSIWYG editor frontend being worked on but I think it still uses markdown some. Havenā€™t tested it out yet, but it definitely is supposed to help there.

What kind of devices are you going to be taking notes on?

I think 99% of the time you can ignore markdown and just write plain text and it will come out fine.

Though I too sometimes wish for ā€œJoplin Liteā€ with all non-essential (for me) features like Memaid diagrams, embedded Youtube videos, or katex stripped.

1 Like

You can already disable Mermaid diagrams and katex in Tools->Options->Plugins

PS: I donā€™t know what you mean with embedded Youtube videos.

1 Like

I know. I wonder when it's disabled does it have any overhead. Probably not.

2 Likes

@desk7, @rishabh.malhotra is working on adding video embedding here. Interesting stuff. Ha

2 Likes

greetings everyone, thanks for your replies

well, the reason I cant just begin writing plain text is that from start I face that clumsy rough font, and also the text itself gets overloaded with unwanted symbols like # , - - , {{ and others