Loading d3 JS in webview

Hey all, I'm a backend developer and very new with Typescript/JS/Node/etc. That said, I am taking a shot at doing some d3 JS visualizations in a Joplin plugin.

My Goal: In a panel on the side of Joplin, render a small graph using d3 JS.

What I've tried:

1. I created a new Plugin successfully with an index.s and a viz.js file.
  2. I set up some HTML from index.ts and had that display successfully.
  3. I then added my vis.js script to the panel (await panels.addScript(view, './viz.js');) and had vis.js log to the console successfully. Good so far
  4. I then added d3.js to the panel: await panels.addScript(view, './d3.v6.min.js');
  5. Now, this is where I had issues. I now want to run d3.select() inside my viz .js file

Issues

• Trying to call the d3.select() function returns an error d3 is undefined.
  • Ok, that makes sense, I never imported it. I then tried adding import * as d3 from './d3.min.js to viz.js and got the error: Cannot use import statement outside a module
  • I next tried const d3 = require('d3') after I did npm install d3 but received the error: require is not define at viz.js:1
  • After quite a bit of searching, I found this Joplin forum thread that sounded similar so I thought that I might have to compile my viz.js script. I remove the require and import from from viz.js and added it to extraScripts in plugins.config.json. I then got the error: exports is not defined at viz.js:1

I did a lot of searching around the exports is not defined but have no clue what's going on there. Looking in the dist/ directory, the very first line of the compiles scripts contains exports.

Is there a simpler way to make d3JS available within a panel/webview for visualization? I read through most other plugins' source code but could not find example of anyone using JS libraries inside the webview vs directly from index.tx