What are your thoughts on the ‘Joplin Cloud Team Read-Only Shares’ feature (2026-09)?

Ever since I switched back from Joplin Cloud Teams to Joplin with NextCloud over a year ago, I’ve been able to do what matters most to me: work seamlessly with Joplin on my various devices, day in, day out.

I’d like to take this opportunity to express my sincere thanks to @laurent and everyone involved in ensuring that Joplin is constantly being improved and developed.

I’m currently considering whether the quality of Joplin Cloud has now improved to such an extent that it would be worth the effort involved in migrating my data back from NextCloud to Joplin Cloud.

I’m particularly interested in the ‘Read Only Shares’ feature, which I would set up between my Joplin Cloud Teams accounts and a few Joplin Cloud Basic accounts. For Joplin Cloud Teams, the ‘Share permissions’ feature is now explicitly mentioned at Joplin Cloud Plans | Joplin .

What do you think? Is the Joplin Cloud Teams ‘Read-Only Shares’ feature stable enough when used in conjunction with Joplin Cloud Basic accounts for me to give it another go?

As I haven’t received a reply here yet, I’ve taken the time to carry out a few tests.
I have some good news and some bad news.
The good news is that I was able to successfully share a top-level folder from Team User A with Team User B in read-only mode.
The bad news is that, whilst carrying out further rapid testing, I encountered problems with supposedly missing passwords or keys.
I will therefore carry out a few more tests cautiously and step by step, and, if necessary, report back in new posts with more detailed descriptions of my test situation and any problems that may arise.

It would certainly be more convenient for everyone involved if there were a description somewhere of the relevant individual features of the JoplinCloud service, so that I could first concentrate on checking the officially released features.