Switching on decryption

I just set up a decrypted system (using Nextcloud)
It is annoying that the system always creates a new key when you switch encryption on and there is no way to switch back to an old one. You may end up with quite a number of keys which is unnecessarily complicated.
If this cannot be helped please include a hint in the setup instructions that encryptation on a device which is set up anew on an encrypted system should not be switched on until the device calls for the password for the key.
Best regards
Bernd

Well that’s the purpose of the large bright warning on top the encryption settings page. That includes a link to the documentation, which describes how it works and how to best setup E2EE.